2020 ASHE Pre-Conference Forum on College Athletics

Raising Athlete Voices: A Panel Discussion on Student-Athlete Activism and Free Speech

ASHE Annual Meeting - Zoom Webinar

November 12, 2020

2:00 pm Eastern/1:00 pm Central/Noon Mountain/11:00 am Pacific/8:00 am Hawaii

REGISTER HERE: https://www.ashe.ws/athletics2020

 

SESSION OVERVIEW

COVID-19, Black Lives Matter, and student-athlete name image likeness (NIL) policies are shaping college athletics in unprecedented ways. Too often, however, discussions around these topics do not center the voices of those most affected by these issues: the student-athlete. In this ASHE pre-conference forum, we will engage in a panel discussion with current student-athletes from across the US.  This student-athlete-only format centers the voices of college athletes on the changes that directly impact them. From monetizing their NIL, to mobilizing over Black Lives Matter, to speaking up about their health, this forum will focus on strategies to support college athlete voices in activism and free speech.

The event will begin with a keynote address that will provide background and context on the current challenges facing student-athletes.  

The Student-Athlete Panel will follow this introduction. Panel moderators will ask student-athletes about the challenges and opportunities they face and how higher education professionals can best support and advocate for student-athletes. Throughout the event, audience members will be able to submit questions for panelists via Zoom and social media.   

After a short break, the Student-Athlete Panel will resume and address questions from the audience. 

The forum concludes with the opportunity for audience members and panelists to break into smaller groups to discuss what they learned from the panel and strategies for supporting student-athletes’ activism. 

 

REGISTRATION FEES

Regular Registration (By October 15, 2020):

  • Students (regardless of ASHE membership): Free 
  • Current ASHE members: $20
  • Non-Members: $30

Late Registration (October 16-November 5, 2020):

  • Students (regardless of ASHE membership): $10 
  • Current ASHE members: $30
  • Non-Members: $40

 

REGISTER HERE:  https://www.ashe.ws/athletics2020

*************

Watch last year's 2019 ASHE Athletics Pre-Conference forum on "NCAA Division I College Sports Finances: Where the Money Comes From and Where the Money Goes" in the video below: 

 

Now in its 11th year, the Pre-Conference Forum on College Sports engages the ASHE community on the issues of the relationship between intercollegiate athletics and higher education. For more information, contact the Center for Leadership in Athletics: claresch@uw.edu 

Past ASHE Pre-Conferences
2019 NCAA Division I College Sports Finances: Where the Money Comes From and Where the Money Goes 
2018 Moments In Athletics Scholarship: Stories of Educational Activism, Disruptive Innovation & Dialogue.
2017 Power to the Scholar: Emerging Media Practices for Higher Education Discourses on College Sports
2016 Advancing Student-Athlete Research and Policy For the Public Good Through Scholar-Practitioner Collaboration
2015 Accessing and Analyzing NCAA Data for Athletics Research & Policy
2014 Informing Research and Policy in Intercollegiate Athletics Knight Commission Database Workshop
2013 Invitation to A Dialogue: Student-Athletes and Higher Education. 
2012 Student-Athlete Climate Survey Pre-Conference Workshop
2011 Publish or Perish? Meeting the Challenges of Publishing Research on Intercollegiate Athletics
2010 Aligning the Study of Intercollegiate Athletics Within Higher Education Scholarship & Policy

Stay in touch with the Center

Sign up to receive monthly updates on the Center’s activities

Sign Up